Vehicle Inspection Types Explained

  • Posted 08 Jul

Vehicle Inspection Types Explained

If your car is more than five years old or you are planning to purchase an older used car, your vehicle will need to pass a safety inspection to remain legally drivable. Your registration renewal notice will tell you if an inspection is required.

The safety inspections are mandated and regulated by Roads and Maritime Services (RMS), which requires older vehicles to undergo an eSafety Check inspection (sometimes called the pink slip). If critical problems are found, you’ll be issued a Repairs Needed report (the white slip) and you’ll have 14 days to get the repairs done. Otherwise your car will be reported as having failed the test and you’ll have to pay for another eSafety Check before you can renew your vehicle registration.

eSafety Check inspections

An eSafety Check rates physical conditions, such as the amount of wear on your tyres, any rust on the car’s body, and the integrity of the engine and suspension assembly. The inspection also checks for oil leaks and tests many components such as lights and indicators, dashboard lighting, seat belt function, brakes, and engine operation.

Any Authorised Safety Check Inspection Station (ASCIS) can perform an eSafety Check on cars and motorcycles. They also inspect light commercial vehicles (no more than five tonnes), trailers, and buses.

Blue slip inspections

If a vehicle is unregistered, you’ll need a blue slip report to make it legal. A blue slip registration inspection can only be conducted at an Authorised Unregistered Vehicle Inspection Station (AUVIS) and includes all the elements of an eSafety Check along with an additional identification inspection.

When is a blue slip inspection required? Generally if you let your vehicle registration lapse for more than three months you’ll need to visit the AUVIS for this more-thorough check. A blue slip report is also necessary if you purchase a vehicle interstate and then want to register it in NSW.

Heavy vehicle inspections

A Heavy Vehicle Inspection Station (HVIS) is authorised to perform eSafety Checks and blue slip reports on larger vehicles. Vehicles required to be inspected at an HVIS station include commercial cargo vehicles over five tonnes, trailers under two tonnes that have an independent breaking system, and any truck with power operated brakes.

Pre-sale vehicle inspections

During the car buying experience, you want to thoroughly test a used car’s performance and inspect its condition for defects and potential future problems. The purpose of a pre-sale inspection is to provide enough detailed information to let the buyer make an informed decision about purchasing the car.

The National Roads & Motorists’ Association (NRMA) MotorServe offers a 40-point vehicle safety check that looks at engine performance, battery system, fluids and potential leaks, body condition, previous repair work, and a variety of other items. If you are not an NRMA member, the Motor Traders Association also provides a similar independent assessment.


Australian Credit and Finance helps buyers with car loans every day. If you are planning a new or used car purchase, contact our loan experts today and let us make the process easier for you.

FREE Property Report
Get a estimated valuation range recent local sales
Detailed property information and more...
We will email your report to you
Get your report